International News

Manitoba opposition party members sworn in at legislature – Winnipeg

Manitoba’s new official opposition has been sworn in.

Progressive Conservative Leader Heather Stefanson and 21 other Tory MLAs took their oaths at the provincial legislature on Monday.

The newly formed PC caucus includes eight former cabinet ministers, three MLAs who haven’t previously held cabinet positions, and 10 rookie politicians.

Stefanson said the official opposition, which didn’t win enough seats to form government in the Oct. 3 election, will hold the New Democrat government accountable for the promises it made during the campaign. The NDP committed to new healthcare facilities with more staff, balancing the budget without raising taxes and ending chronic homelessness within two terms.

During her election night concession speech, Stefanson announced she would be stepping down as Tory leader, but later vowed to stay on until a new leader is chosen.

Story continues below advertisement

Click to play video: 'Manitoba Tory caucus backs Stefanson’s decision to stay on as leader: chair'

Manitoba Tory caucus backs Stefanson’s decision to stay on as leader: chair

&copy 2023 Global News, a division of Corus Entertainment Inc.

#Manitoba #opposition #party #members #sworn #legislature #Winnipeg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *